Meet the Team

The BWF is the voice of the UK Woodworking industry, and our staff team works hard to support your business in every way. Below you can meet the team here at the BWF. In addition to the staff team, you can also see which members are representing you.

We are a member led organisation with our Council of members and Executive body driving the strategy. There are three Council meetings per year where the BWF’s strategy is discussed.  If you are a member and are interested in getting involved with the BWF Council, you can nominate yourself and are welcome to call us to discuss what it entails.

Helen Hewitt – Chief Executive
Email Helen Here
Helen has overall responsibility for the BWF’s operations and direction.

Tony Batchelor – Training Manger
Email Tony Here
Tony is responsible for delivering on the BWF’s three core training objectives: increasing recruitment into the sector; maintaining and developing high quality qualifications and delivery partners, and fostering a culture of continuous learning in the industry.

Kevin Underwood – Technical Director
Email Kevin Here
Kevin spends much of his time out of the office sitting on technical standards committees both in the UK and Europe. He works to drive standards for the advancement of our industry and offers advice through the technical helpline.

Tracey Hemming – Office and Finance Manager
Email Tracey Here
Tracey manages the finance department and the office. She is the main point for contact for general invoicing and other financial queries.

Robert Allinson – Membership Manager
Email Robert Here
Robert is the main point of contact for all BWF Membership enquiries, Member relations and leads on the BWF Code of Conduct.

Kyle Johnson – Membership and Training Administrator
Email Kyle Here
Kyle deals with all queries regarding Membership and Training. He is the main point for contact for membership application and fee enquires.

Peter Clifton – Schemes Manager for Fire Door Alliance and Stair Scheme
Email Peter Here
Peter is the main point of contact for the Fire Door Alliance and Stair Schemes.

Amanda Chesson – Marketing & Communications Manager, WWA Lead
Email Amanda Here
Amanda is the main point of contact for all BWF marketing and communications enquiries and is the lead for the Wood Window Alliance.


The BWF Board of Directors (all voluntary representatives from Member Firms)

Paul Bailey – President (Elected Officer)
Email Paul Here
Member Company – European Doorsets Ltd
Paul is the BWF President contributing to the organisation’s strategy. There are two areas in particular that Paul thinks are fundamental to ensuring growth continues: attracting young people with a passion for woodworking and communicating the benefits of wood to professional audiences and the general public.

David Oldfield – Vice President (Elected Officer)
Member Company – Arnold Laver
As Vice President of the BWF, David’s drivers are that we are a well-resourced organisation delivering exceptional values to members.

Andrew Madge – Treasurer (Elected Officer)
Member Company – Gowercroft Joinery Ltd
As Treasurer, Andrew has specific responsibilities for the BWF finances.

Sean Parnaby – Director (Past President)
Member Company – West Port Timber Windows & Doors Ltd

Stephen Wright – Director
Member Company – George Barnsdale

Pauline Kelly – Director
Member Company – E A Higginson & Co. Ltd

Helen Hewitt – Secretary


Your BWF Council (all voluntary representatives from Member Firms)


Specific Representatives:

Tony Pell – Wood Window Alliance Chair
Member Company – JELD-WEN Ltd
Tony chairs the Wood Window Alliance, helping to develop communications to support the growth of the wood window market in the UK

Ordinary members of the Council:

Jonathan Bowers, MWC Holdings Ltd
Jim Horsman, Icklesham Joinery Limited
Roger Silk, Houghtons of York
Simon Walker SPS Windows
Paul Taylor, Canopy Products Limited
Peter Horner, Andrew Horner & Son Ltd
Simon Badham, Arden Windows Ltd

Honorary Life Members:

Ian Purkis